Stream thousands of fine art and hand-crafting classes with Creativebug. Check it out here!

Boulder Junction Public Library

A very typical family: a novel

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for A very typical family

Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English

Description

"Atmospheric and uplifting...for fans of Marian Keyes and Emily Giffin." —Booklist, STARRED review

A heartfelt, hilarious beach read about learning to love (and forgive) your family...even when they accidentally put you behind bars.

All families are messy. Some are disasters.

Natalie Walker is the reason her older brother and sister went to prison over 15 years ago. She fled California shortly after that fateful night and hasn't spoken to anyone in her family since. Now, on the same day her boyfriend steals her dream job out from under her, Natalie receives a letter from a lawyer saying her estranged mother has died and left the family's historic Santa Cruz house to her. Sort of. The only way for Natalie and her siblings to inherit is for all three adult children to come back and claim it—together.

Natalie drives cross-country to Santa Cruz with her willful cat in tow expecting to sign some papers, see siblings Lynn and Jake briefly, and get back to sorting out her life in Boston. But Jake, now an award-winning ornithologist, is missing. And Lynn, working as an undertaker in New York City, shows up with a teenage son. While Natalie and her nephew look for Jake—meeting a very handsome marine biologist who immediately captures her heart—she unpacks the guilt she has held onto for so many years, wondering how (or if) she can salvage a relationship with her siblings after all this time.

Written with delightfully dark humor and characters you can't help but cheer for, A Very Typical Family is an uplifting family drama that will have you reveling in the power of second chances.

"I couldn't put it down. Engrossing, satisfying. The minute I turned the last page I messaged three friends to tell them they had to grab it." —KJ Dell'Antonia, New York Times bestselling author of Reese's Book Club pick The Chicken Sisters

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Details

ISBN:
9781728255200
9781728255224
9798212005289

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID31aba120-e1bc-c880-471a-dafbbe398dc6
Grouping Titlevery typical family
Grouping Authorsierra godfrey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-07-18 18:22:46PM
Last Indexed2024-07-18 18:23:09PM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Godfrey, Sierra
author_display
Godfrey, Sierra
detailed_location_boulderjunction
Ashland Adult Fiction
Lac Courte Oreilles Adult Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
"A propulsive contemporary women's fiction debut with dark humor and messy yet warm-hearted family dynamics, perfect for fans of Claire Lombardo's The Most Fun We Ever Had and Emma Straub's All Adults Here. All families are messy. Some are disasters. Natalie Walker is the reason her older brother and sister went to prison over 15 years ago. She fled California shortly after that fateful night and hasn't spoken to anyone in her family since. Ten years later--on the same day her boyfriend steals her dream job out from under her--Natalie receives a letter from a lawyer saying her estranged mother has died and left the family's historic Santa Cruz house to her. Sort of. The only way for Natalie and her siblings to inherit is for all three adult children to come back and claim it--together. Natalie drives cross-country to Santa Cruz with her willful cat in tow expecting to sign some papers, see siblings Lynn and Jake briefly, and get back to sorting out her life in Boston. But Jake, now an award-winning ornithologist, is missing. And Lynn, working as an undertaker in New York City, shows up with a teenage son. While Natalie and her nephew look for Jake--meeting a very handsome marine biologist who immediately captures her heart--she unpacks the guilt she has held onto for so many years, wondering how-or if-she can salvage a relationship with her siblings after all this time. A Very Typical Family navigates the messy yet warm-hearted journey of a family struggling to find each other again. Written with delightfully dark humor and characters you can't help but cheer for, this debut from Sierra Godfrey will have you reveling in the power of family and second chances. No one can change the past, but every day is an opportunity to choose your future"--
format_boulderjunction
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_boulderjunction
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
31aba120-e1bc-c880-471a-dafbbe398dc6
isbn
9781728255200
9781728255224
9798212005289
itype_boulderjunction
BOOK - HARDCOVER
last_indexed
2024-07-18T23:23:09.704Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_boulderjunction
Online OverDrive
owning_library_boulderjunction
Boulder Junction Library Online
owning_location_boulderjunction
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781728255200
publishDate
2022
publisher
Blackstone Publishing
Sourcebooks
Sourcebooks Landmark
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Domestic fiction
Estranged families -- Fiction
Inheritance and succession -- Fiction
title_display
A very typical family : a novel
title_full
A Very Typical Family A Novel
A very typical family : a novel / Sierra Godfrey
title_short
A very typical family
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Estranged families
Fiction
Inheritance and succession
Literature
Romance

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook11falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:e9476637-fead-473c-8be0-f965aa6f25521Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:e9476637-fead-473c-8be0-f965aa6f2552-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
ils:.b21114560.i34890415Ashland Adult FictionGODFREY1falsefalseAvailableJun 13, 2024asfic
ils:.b21114560.i34913981Lac Courte Oreilles Adult FictionFICTION GODFREY1falsefalseAvailableAug 14, 2023lcfic

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccbeBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks2022
overdrive:e9476637-fead-473c-8be0-f965aa6f2552eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2022
ils:.b21114560BookBooksEnglishSourcebooks Landmark[2022]341 pages ; 24 cm

scoping_details_boulderjunction

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e9476637-fead-473c-8be0-f965aa6f25521Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e9476637-fead-473c-8be0-f965aa6f2552-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b21114560.i34890415On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b21114560.i34913981On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999