Stream thousands of fine art and hand-crafting classes with Creativebug. Check it out here!

Boulder Junction Public Library

Go as a river
(Book)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Published:
New York, NY : Spiegel and Grau, [2023].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
305 pages ; 22 cm
Status:

Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

* Finalist for Goodreads Choice Award * Colorado Public Radio 2023 Books We Love *

Set amid Colorado’s wild beauty, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story of a resilient young woman whose life is changed forever by one chance encounter. A tragic and uplifting novel of love and loss, family and survival—and hope—for readers of Great Circle, The Four Winds, and Where the Crawdads Sing.

“Beautiful . . . A striking first novel of love and strength and growth, set against the forests and rivers of Colorado’s high country. Read is a gifted writer, and the book is a literary triumph.”—Denver Post

“With gorgeous descriptions of the great outdoors, an illicit love story, and an unforgettable protagonist, Go as a River offers something for everyone.”—Real Simple

Seventeen-year-old Victoria Nash runs the household on her family’s peach farm in the small ranch town of Iola, Colorado—the sole surviving female in a family of troubled men. Wilson Moon is a young drifter with a mysterious past, displaced from his tribal land and determined to live as he chooses.

Victoria encounters Wil by chance on a street corner, a meeting that profoundly alters both of their young lives, unknowingly igniting as much passion as danger. When tragedy strikes, Victoria leaves the only life she has ever known. She flees into the surrounding mountains where she struggles to survive in the wilderness with no clear notion of what her future will bring. As the seasons change, she also charts the changes in herself, finding in the beautiful but harsh landscape the meaning and strength to move forward and rebuild all that she has lost, even as the Gunnison River threatens to submerge her homeland—its ranches, farms, and the beloved peach orchard that has been in her family for generations.

Inspired by true events surrounding the destruction of the town of Iola in the 1960s, Go as a River is a story of deeply held love in the face of hardship and loss, but also of finding courage, resilience, friendship, and, finally, home—where least expected. This stunning debut explores what it means to lead your life as if it were a river—gathering and flowing, finding a way forward even when a river is dammed.

Also in This Series

Copies

Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Boulder Junction Adult Fiction
FIC REA
On Holdshelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Land O Lakes Adult Fiction
FIC REA
In Transit
Spooner Adult Fiction
F REA
Available
Jul 17, 2024
Washburn Adult Fiction
FIC REA
Available
Jul 15, 2024
Webster Adult Fiction
FIC REA HC
Due Aug 8, 2024

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Language:
English
ISBN:
9781954118232, 1954118236

Notes

General Note
"A novel"--Dust jacket.
Description
"Seventeen-year-old Victoria Nash runs the household on her family's peach farm in the small ranch town of Iola, Colorado--the sole surviving female in a family of troubled men. Wilson Moon is a young drifter with a mysterious past, displaced from his tribal land and determined to live as he chooses. Victoria encounters Wil by chance on a street corner, a meeting that profoundly alters both of their young lives, unknowingly igniting as much passion as danger. When tragedy strikes, Victoria leaves the only life she has ever known. She flees into the surrounding mountains where she struggles to survive in the wilderness with no clear notion of what her future will bring. As the seasons change, she also charts the changes in herself, finding in the beautiful but harsh landscape the meaning and strength to move forward and rebuild all that she has lost, even as the Gunnison River threatens to submerge her homeland--its ranches, farms, and the beloved peach orchard that has been in her family for generations. Inspired by true events surrounding the destruction of the town of Iola in the 1960s, Go as a River is a story of deeply held love in the face of hardship and loss, but also of finding courage, resilience, friendship, and, finally, home--where least expected. This stunning debut explores what it means to lead your life as if it were a river--gathering and flowing, finding a way forward even when a river is dammed."

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Read, S. (2023). Go as a river. New York, NY, Spiegel and Grau.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Read, Shelley. 2023. Go As a River. New York, NY, Spiegel and Grau.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Read, Shelley, Go As a River. New York, NY, Spiegel and Grau, 2023.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Read, Shelley. Go As a River. New York, NY, Spiegel and Grau, 2023.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
6741728d-f158-1adc-723c-c8ff885301fa
Go To Grouped Work

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 18, 2024 08:14:12 AM
Last File Modification TimeJul 18, 2024 08:14:20 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 18, 2024 06:55:37 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03087cam 2200421 i 4500
0011336986599
008220724t20232023nyu    e      000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781954118232 |q (hardcover)
020 |a 1954118236 |q (hardcover)
040 |b eng |e rda
08204 |a 813/.6 |2 23
1001 |a Read, Shelley, |e author.
24510 |a Go as a river / |c Shelley Read.
2641 |a New York, NY : |b Spiegel and Grau, |c [2023]
2644 |c ©2023
300 |a 305 pages ; |c 22 cm
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier
500 |a "A novel"--Dust jacket.
520 |a "Seventeen-year-old Victoria Nash runs the household on her family's peach farm in the small ranch town of Iola, Colorado--the sole surviving female in a family of troubled men. Wilson Moon is a young drifter with a mysterious past, displaced from his tribal land and determined to live as he chooses. Victoria encounters Wil by chance on a street corner, a meeting that profoundly alters both of their young lives, unknowingly igniting as much passion as danger. When tragedy strikes, Victoria leaves the only life she has ever known. She flees into the surrounding mountains where she struggles to survive in the wilderness with no clear notion of what her future will bring. As the seasons change, she also charts the changes in herself, finding in the beautiful but harsh landscape the meaning and strength to move forward and rebuild all that she has lost, even as the Gunnison River threatens to submerge her homeland--its ranches, farms, and the beloved peach orchard that has been in her family for generations. Inspired by true events surrounding the destruction of the town of Iola in the 1960s, Go as a River is a story of deeply held love in the face of hardship and loss, but also of finding courage, resilience, friendship, and, finally, home--where least expected. This stunning debut explores what it means to lead your life as if it were a river--gathering and flowing, finding a way forward even when a river is dammed."
6500 |a Man-woman relationships |v Fiction.
6500 |a Teenage girls |v Fiction.
6500 |a Drifters |v Fiction.
6500 |a Indigenous peoples |v Fiction.
6500 |a Families |v Fiction.
6510 |a Colorado |v Fiction.
6557 |a Survival fiction. |2 lcgft
6557 |a Historical fiction. |2 lcgft
6557 |a Bildungsromans. |2 lcgft
907 |a .b21181883
940 |a MARCIVE 04/2023
945 |y .i35125950 |i 30245000810999 |l spfic |s - |h  |u 17 |x 11 |w 6 |v 1 |t 100 |z 230307 |j 07-17-2024 20:19 |r l |a F REA
945 |y .i35166332 |i 30165000352182 |l lofic |s t |h  |u 15 |x 11 |w 4 |v 1 |t 100 |z 230331 |j 07-02-2024 15:18 |r l |a FIC REA
945 |y .i35184498 |i 30075000691945 |l wafic |s - |h  |u 13 |x 9 |w 4 |v 2 |t 100 |z 230414 |j 07-15-2024 14:10 |r l |a FIC REA
945 |y .i35201587 |i 30015000749400 |l weafi |s - |h 240808 |u 13 |x 8 |w 5 |v 4 |t 100 |z 230427 |j 06-10-2024 14:58 |r l |a FIC REA HC
945 |y .i3558581x |i 30005000458706 |l bjafi |s ! |h  |u 3 |x 0 |w 3 |v 1 |t 100 |z 240229 |j 06-27-2024 20:14 |r l |a FIC REA
998 |h c |e l  |f eng |a bj |a lo |a sp |a wa |a we