Stream thousands of fine art and hand-crafting classes with Creativebug. Check it out here!

Boulder Junction Public Library

The berry pickers: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Average user rating: 3.5 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York, New York : Catapult, 2023.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
307 pages : illustrations, map ; 24 cm
Status:

Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
2023 Barnes & Noble Discover Prize Winner
Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

A four-year-old Mi’kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a mystery that will haunt the survivors, unravel a family, and remain unsolved for nearly fifty years

"A stunning debut about love, race, brutality, and the balm of forgiveness." —People, A Best New Book


July 1962. A Mi’kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family’s youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister’s disappearance for years to come. 

In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren’t telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. 

For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time.

"A harrowing tale of Indigenous family separation . . . [Peters] excels in writing characters for whom we can’t help rooting . . . With The Berry Pickers, Peters takes on the monumental task of giving witness to people who suffered through racist attempts of erasure like her Mi’kmaw ancestors." —The New York Times Book Review

Also in This Series

Copies

Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Boulder Junction Adult Fiction
FIC PET
Due Aug 7, 2024
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Ashland Adult Fiction
PETERS
Available
Jun 22, 2024
Bayfield Adult Fiction
FIC PET
Due Aug 28, 2024
Eagle River Adult Fiction
FIC PET
On Holdshelf
Hayward Adult And Young Adult Fiction
PET
On Holdshelf
Lac Courte Oreilles Adult Fiction
NA 813.6 PET
Due Jul 27, 2024
Land O Lakes Adult Fiction
FIC PET
On Holdshelf
Manitowish Waters Adult Fiction
NEW F Pet
Due Jul 29, 2024
Mercer Adult Fiction
F PET
On Holdshelf
Presque Isle Adult Fiction
F Pet
Available
Jul 11, 2024
Red Cliff Native fiction
NA FIC PET
In Transit
Sayner Adult Fiction
NEW PETERS
Due Aug 27, 2024
Shell Lake Adult Fiction
FIC PETERS
In Transit
Spooner Adult Fiction
F PET
Due Aug 6, 2024
Superior Adult Fiction
NEW FICTION Peters, Amanda
Due Jul 24, 2024
Washburn Adult Fiction
FIC PET
Due Aug 10, 2024

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Language:
English
ISBN:
9781646221950, 1646221958

Notes

Description
"July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time."--,Provided by publisher.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Peters, A. (2023). The berry pickers: a novel. New York, New York, Catapult.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Peters, Amanda. 2023. The Berry Pickers: A Novel. New York, New York, Catapult.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Peters, Amanda, The Berry Pickers: A Novel. New York, New York, Catapult, 2023.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Peters, Amanda. The Berry Pickers: A Novel. New York, New York, Catapult, 2023.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
c828e833-a2c1-6c24-559c-00ee12ac0478
Go To Grouped Work

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 18, 2024 09:37:04 AM
Last File Modification TimeJul 18, 2024 09:37:11 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 18, 2024 10:08:01 PM

MARC Record

LEADER04137cam 2200553Ii 4500
0011404819856
008231019t20232023nyuab  e      000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781646221950 |q (hardcover)
020 |a 1646221958 |q (hardcover)
040 |a IMmBT |b eng |e rda |c CG4 |d CG4 |d ZGW |d IOU |d MJ8 |d OCLCF |d YDX |d BDX |d MWD |d OCO |d RNL
043 |a n-us-me
1001 |a Peters, Amanda, |e author.
24514 |a The berry pickers : |b a novel / |c Amanda Peters.
2641 |a New York, New York : |b Catapult, |c 2023.
2644 |c ©2023
300 |a 307 pages : |b illustrations, map ; |c 24 cm
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
336 |a cartographic image |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier
520 |a "July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time."-- |c Provided by publisher.
6500 |a Families |v Fiction.
6500 |a Missing persons |v Fiction.
6500 |a Family secrets |v Fiction.
6500 |a Grief |v Fiction.
6510 |a Maine |v Fiction.
6557 |a Historical fiction. |2 lcgft
6557 |a Domestic fiction. |2 lcgft
6557 |a Detective and mystery fiction. |2 lcgft
6557 |a Bildungsromans. |2 lcgft
907 |a .b2127034x
940 |a MARCIVE 01/2024
945 |y .i35447709 |i 30245000722756 |l spfic |s - |h 240806 |u 9 |x 2 |w 7 |v 4 |t 100 |z 231107 |j 06-24-2024 16:55 |r l |a F PET
945 |y .i35451609 |i 30062000613806 |l slfic |s t |h  |u 8 |x 2 |w 6 |v 2 |t 100 |z 231108 |j 07-15-2024 18:24 |r l |a FIC PETERS
945 |y .i35452614 |i 30005000456387 |l bjafi |s - |h 240807 |u 11 |x 2 |w 9 |v 1 |t 100 |z 231109 |j 07-05-2024 19:37 |r l |a FIC PET
945 |y .i35453242 |i 39576101117327 |l asfic |s - |h  |u 8 |x 2 |w 6 |v 1 |t 100 |z 231109 |j 06-22-2024 17:51 |r l |a PETERS
945 |y .i35453461 |i 30205000473578 |l mrfic |s ! |h  |u 9 |x 3 |w 6 |v 2 |t 100 |z 231109 |j 07-18-2024 14:36 |r l |a F PET
945 |y .i3545507x |i 30105000653676 |l bafic |s - |h 240828 |u 10 |x 3 |w 7 |v 1 |t 100 |z 231111 |j 05-28-2024 18:01 |r l |a FIC PET
945 |y .i3545670x |i 30175000451017 |l lcfic |s - |h 240727 |u 8 |x 1 |w 7 |v 2 |t 100 |z 231114 |j 05-11-2024 14:35 |r l |a NA 813.6 PET
945 |y .i3546169x |i 30055001249745 |l erfic |s ! |h  |u 12 |x 2 |w 10 |v 0 |t 100 |z 231116 |j 07-03-2024 15:02 |r l |a FIC PET
945 |y .i35472881 |i 36120004421362 |l sufic |s - |h 240724 |u 9 |x 1 |w 8 |v 2 |t 100 |z 231127 |j 07-01-2024 13:07 |r l |a NEW FICTION Peters, Amanda
945 |y .i35480142 |i 30165000361563 |l lofic |s ! |h  |u 7 |x 2 |w 5 |v 0 |t 100 |z 231201 |j 06-03-2024 15:01 |r l |a FIC PET
945 |y .i35509636 |i 30275000481871 |l safic |s - |h 240827 |u 7 |x 0 |w 7 |v 0 |t 100 |z 231229 |j 05-21-2024 13:38 |r l |a NEW PETERS
945 |y .i35519241 |i 30035000518225 |l piafi |s - |h  |u 11 |x 0 |w 11 |v 1 |t 100 |z 240108 |j 07-11-2024 14:27 |r l |a F Pet
945 |y .i35559433 |i 30075000703260 |l wafic |s - |h 240810 |u 6 |x 0 |w 6 |v 1 |t 100 |z 240207 |j 07-10-2024 16:29 |r l |a FIC PET
945 |y .i35563394 |i 30135001338944 |l hafic |s ! |h  |u 4 |x 0 |w 4 |v 2 |t 100 |z 240212 |j 05-29-2024 16:09 |r l |a PET
945 |y .i35593623 |i 30225000121472 |l rcnfi |s t |h  |u 5 |x 0 |w 5 |v 3 |t 100 |z 240306 |j 07-17-2024 22:21 |r - |a NA FIC PET
945 |y .i35716617 |i 30195000457012 |l mwafi |s - |h 240729 |u 3 |x 0 |w 3 |v 0 |t 107 |z 240614 |j 07-09-2024 18:41 |r l |a NEW F Pet
998 |h c |e l  |f eng |a as |a ba |a bj |a er |a ha |a lo |a lc |a mw |a mr |a pi |a rc |a sa |a sl |a sp |a su |a wa